Association of Sea Pines Plantation Property Owners, Inc., and The Advisory Board

Annual Meeting October 27, 2020

An Annual Meeting of Association of Sea Pines Plantation Property Owners, Inc., and The Advisory Board (ASPPPO), was held on Tuesday, October 27, 2020, via videoconference.

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Paula Scanlon, President, at 10:05 a.m., Eastern time.

Establishment of Quorum

David Ellis, Secretary, announced that quorum was established by proxy.

Approval - Annual Meeting Minutes, April 29, 2019

A motion was made by David Ellis, to support the resolution, "Approval – Annual Meeting Minutes, April 29, 2019". The motion was seconded and unanimously carried:

"RESOLVED, the Association of Sea Pines Plantation Property Owners, Inc., and the Advisory Board, approved the Annual Meeting Minutes, April 29, 2019, as presented".

<u>Announcement – Nominating Committee, 2020</u>

President Scanlon announced the Nominating Committee, 2020: Paula Scanlon; Chair, Barry Barth and David Ellis.

Announcement – Date of Record, Election, 2020

President Scanlon announced the Date of Record, Election, 2020: October 1, 2020.

Financial Overview

Rich Speer provided a financial update. Highlights included:

- o Balance Sheet, 2019: Total Assets/\$399,000, Total Liabilities/\$54,000 and Net Assets/\$345,000;
- o Profit and Loss Statement, 2019: Net Income/\$1,000, Total Expenses/\$147,000, Total Revenue/\$148,000;
- o Total Expenses, 2019: Community Events, Print and Meetings, Newsletter, Legal Fees, Membership Solicitation, Insurance, CSA Service Fee, Land Use Monitor, Other;
- o Expenses slightly higher in 2019 due to Referendum, 2019, and Restatement of Bylaws;
- Reallocated dollars for communications and website development, digital newsletters to reduce cost;
- o ASPPPO Membership, 2020, is currently 3,628, represents 70% of Residential Property Owners;
- o Membership remains the key driver and revenue builder for the Association;
- o Reserves provide a vehicle to protect Residential Property Owner's rights, legal expert counsel and to launch lawsuits.

Board of Directors Report

Recognition of Outgoing Board Members

Board Members Mark Griffith, Richard Matthews and Charlie Miner, were acknowledged and thanked for their terms of service, ended December 31, 2019.

<u>Introduction of Board Members</u>

Property Owners elected, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2020: David Ellis, Dana Guazzo and Grover Todd.

President Scanlon thanked the seated 2020 ASPPPO Board of Directors, for their service: Barry Barth, Vice President; David Ellis, Secretary; Rich Speer, Treasurer; Paul Crunkleton, Director; Dana Guazzo, Director; Bill Johnson, Director; James Richardson, Director and Grover Todd, Director.

President's Remarks

President Scanlon provided a community update. Highlights included:

- New website features, include: join button, payment by credit card, membership directory, history, governance, documents, meeting dates, Board meeting packets;
- o Annual Meeting proxy provided ability to collect additional member email addresses;
- Membership increased by 3%;
- o Membership billing (2021) costs renegotiated and reduced by 50%;
- Land Use Management Rules and Regulations, will be put to vote at November 12, 2020,
 Board Meeting; will be forwarded to CSA for approval;
- o New property management system in use by Land Use Monitor;
- o Litigation ongoing against residential property owner in violation of Covenants;
- o ASPPPO to remove "Plantation" and undergo name change, e.g., Sea Pines Property Owners Association, Sea Pines Homeowners Association;
- o Leaf Blower Task Force's recommended Policy, tabled, for further review;
- o ASPPPO has not taken position, regarding Sea Pines Special Tax District, at this time;
- o Next Board Meeting, November 12, 2020.

Adjournment

With no further business to come before the Board, President Scanlon adjourned the meeting at 10:30 a.m. The date, time and location for the 2021 ASPPPO Annual Meeting, remains to be determined.

Respectfully Submitted,

David Ellis Secretary

Dru W. Eller